North Atlantic Collaborative Opportunities Discussion

Thursday June 16, 2016

9AM Edinburgh/ 4AM Eastern

Edinburgh Centre for Carbon Innovation (ECCI)

Remote Participation: Skype

 

In-Person Participants: Murray Roberts (HWU) Lea-Anne Henry (HWU) Sebastian Hennige (HWU) John Potter (CMRE) Ellen Kenchington (DFO)

Ana Teresa Caetano (EC) Martha Nizinski (NOAA) Terry Schaefer (NOAA)

Jeremy Potter (NOAA)

Remote Participants: Amanda Demopoulos (USGS) John McDonough (NOAA)

Tom Hourigan (NOAA) Jennifer Jencks (NOAA) Deb Glickson (CIOERT)

Melissa Ryan (GFOE)

A small group of representatives from key organizations and consortia will meet in Edinburgh to discuss known upcoming deepwater field efforts spanning the North Atlantic. The goal of the meeting is for participants to better understand emerging activities and discuss feasibility of leveraging the initiatives to deliver enhanced and coordinated value. This is an informal meeting and not intended to circumvent or impede other international planning efforts.

The objectives of the meeting are: 1) share information about overall science objectives and preliminary cruises logistics associated with a subset of known and emerging deepwater efforts in the North Atlantic. Key efforts anticipated to be discussed include ATLAS, SponGES, Unmanned Warrior, USGS-Atlantic, and NOAA-Atlantic efforts; 2) outline relevant platform capabilities and plans; 3) discuss potential means and mechanisms of collaboration; 4) identify next steps including informal and formal opportunities to continue the discussions

 9:00 Brief Introductions and Agenda Review

9:30 Galway Statement on Atlantic Ocean Cooperation (Caetano & Schaefer)

● Summary of background and desired outcomes

● Existing groups and mechanisms to facilitate science coordination

● Relationship to H2020 BG1 projects (e.g., SponGES, ATLAS)

10:00 Emerging Field Efforts - representatives to highlight science objectives; high level logistics for both firm and notional cruises; preliminary thoughts on interest and opportunities for potential collaborations. The primary focus is on planned work in 2016 and 2017 however discussion is welcome about later plans and opportunities (20 min each group)

ATLAS: Introduction and Overview ATLAS WP10  Roberts)

Unmanned Warrior (John Potter)

10:40 Break

 

11:00 Continued Emerging Field Efforts - representatives to highlight science objectives; high level logistics for both firm and notional cruises; preliminary thoughts on interest and opportunities for potential collaborations (20 min each group)

USGS – Western Atlantic canyons and seeps (Demopoulos)

SponGES and Cruises (Kenchington)

Canada (Kenchington)

12:00 Lunch

1:00 Continued Emerging Field Efforts - representatives to highlight science objectives; high level logistics for both firm and notional cruises; preliminary thoughts on interest and opportunities for potential collaborations (20 min each group)

NMFS-Deep Coral (Nizinski)

Atlantic Seabed Mapping International Working Group (Jencks)

1:40 Partner Platforms and Capabilities: This is not project specific. Worth noting that capabilities are not limited to platforms. Associated groups have significant science, technical, and coordination expertise that could prove invaluable.

NATO R/V Alliance (John Potter) - 15 min

GFOE deep submergence assets (Ryan) - 15 min

NOAA Ship Okeanos Explorer campaigns (Jeremy Potter) - 20 min

2:15 Break

2:30 Facilitated Discussion - Potential Means and Mechanisms of Collaboration

● At first glance, there appears to be varying levels of overlap in the geographic areas of interest among US, Canadian, and EU projects. Is there desire to discuss feasibility of leveraging the initiatives to deliver enhanced and coordinated value?

● What are challenges/opportunities for US and Canadian scientists to collaborate with H2020 EU funded scientists?

● Are there near-term opportunities on planned cruises where we might be able make incremental progress toward increasing collaboration?

● There are likely opportunities to organize more significant partnership cruises in out-years (i.e., 2018-2020). Are there suggestions for themes or geographic areas of operations?

● Are the best next steps simply scientist-scientist-program manager? Or, is a more formal workshop appropriate?

4:00 Review Action Item and Next Steps

5:30 Dinner

 

NAMES

Confirmed or considering attending in-person:

John Potter (NATO CMRE) - John.Potter@cmre.nato.int

Ellen Kenchington (Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada) - Ellen.Kenchington@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Murray Roberts (Heriot-Watt University) - J.M.Roberts@hw.ac.uk

Lea-Anne Henry (Heriot-Watt University) - L.Henry@hw.ac.uk

Martha Nizinski (NOAA National Marine Fisheries Service) - NIZINSKI@si.edu

Terry Schaefer (NOAA Office of Oceanic & Atmospheric Research) - terry.schaefer@noaa.gov Ana Teresa Caetano (European Commission) - Ana-Teresa.CAETANO@ec.europa.eu

Jeremy Potter (NOAA Office of Ocean Exploration & Research) - jeremy.potter@noaa.gov

Invited and planning to participate for a portion of the meeting remotely:

Amanda Demopoulos (U.S. Geological Survey) - ademopoulos@usgs.gov

John McDonough (NOAA Office of Ocean Exploration & Research) - john.mcdonough@noaa.gov

Tom Hourigan (NOAA Deep Sea Coral Research and Technology Program) – tom.hourigan@noaa.gov

Melissa Ryan (Global Foundation for Ocean Exploration) - melissa.ryan@tgfoe.org

Jennifer Jencks (NOAA) – jennifer.jencks@noaa.gov

Deb Glickson (Cooperative Institute for Ocean Exploration Research and Technology) dglickson@fau.edu

Invited but unable to attend:

Hans Rapp (University of Bergen) - Hans.Rapp@uib.no Joana Xavier (University of Bergen) - Joana.Xavier@uib.no

Shirley Pomponi (Florida Atlantic University) - SPomponi@hboi.fau.edu

Alan Leonardi (NOAA Office of Ocean Exploration & Research) - alan.leonardi@noaa.gov Sieglinda Gruber (European Commission) - Sieglinde.GRUBER@ec.europa.eu

Daniel Constantin Strugariu (European Commission) - Daniel-Constantin.STRUGARIU@ec.europa.eu

David Burton (NATO CMRE) David.Burton@cmre.nato.int

Paul Snelgrove (Memorial University) - psnelgro@mun.ca

Sebastian Hennige (Heriot-Wat University) - S.Hennige@hw.ac.uk